The Carolyn and Cy King Peace and Justice Award

The Carolyn and Cy King Peace and Justice Award honors those who embody spirits of service and grace and demonstrate commitments to addressing issues of justice and peace in our community and world.  

On July 3, 2012, the Community United Church of Christ Council voted to establish the King Peace and Justice Award.  Through the establishment of this award, members and friends of Community United Church of Christ convey the deepest expression of gratitude and appreciation for the lives of service of Carolyn and Cy King, two long-time members of the congregation. 


Resolution establishing the Carolyn and Cy King Peace and Justice Award

The resolution describes the spirits and work of Carolyn and Cy King which award recipients also exemplify.



2012:  Carolyn and Cyrus King, inaugural winners and award namesakes

2013:  Sandy and Deane Irving; Marjorie Eckels

2014:  Bill Towe; Slater Newman; Peg and Mac Hulslander

2015:  Judy Occhetti-Klohr and Leo Klohr; Rev. Collins Kilburn

2016:  Patrick O’Neal and Mary Rider; Jane Hunt

2017:  Alan and Ruth Reberg; Joan McAllister

2018:  Lib Hutchby; Adrienne and John Little; John Paar

2019:  Betty Anne Ford and Nancy Newell; Don and Shirley Birt; Sue Woodling

2020:  none presented during the pandemic spring

2021: David H. Bland, Carson Roach-Howell, and Gary K. Smith

2022:  Sue Cottle; Jim Smith. Bishop William J. Barber II (presented at Greenleaf Christian Church)

2023:  David Andrews, Rev. Mac Legerton, Gail Phares, and Jane Smith  award ceremony video

Carolyn and Cy King

Read more about Carolyn Spicer King more about Cyrus Baldwin King, Sr.

Carolyn and Cy King accept donations at a Marketplace of Meaningful Gifts table

How to nominate someone for the 2024 King Award

Deadline for submission is May 26

Nomination form